SDG 8

SDG 8: Decent Work and Economic Growth

Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all

We spend most of our lives at work. While it structures our day-to-day life, it also provides us with a livelihood and much more. From food through clothing to technologies such as cell phones and cars, the world currently produces and consumes more than ever before. While economic growth plays an important role in the fight against global poverty, development alone does not automatically lead to greater prosperity or good jobs for all. There are 700 million people around the world who live in poverty despite having a job. A persistent lack of decent work opportunities, underinvestment and underconsumption are eroding democratic societies’ basic social contract. With the global unemployment rate at just 5.7 percent, about half of the world’s population still lives on roughly two US dollars a day. In many places, a job does not guarantee any escape from poverty.

More people than ever before – about 40 million worldwide – are forced into labor in the agricultural, textile and mining industries, among others. This means that they are treated as property, either temporarily or permanently. So on average, about 60 “slaves” work indirectly for each German individual. Global production chains make it virtually impossible to guarantee that no forced labor was used to produce a smartphone, a T-shirt or a cup of coffee.

Many families feel compelled to send their children to work instead of school because they are too poor to feed their families on their own. UNICEF estimates that 150 million children around the world between the ages of five and fourteen are already at work. The highest numbers live in Africa, followed by Asia. They are frequently involved in activities that harm their physical and mental development, as well as also being very detrimental to the environment. What’s known as the informal economy – unregulated and untaxed employment – is another major obstacle to decent work because it not only has a negative impact on income and general working conditions but also undermines social, labor and health protections.

Wage dumping and precarious employment conditions, such as temporary and contract work, are also prevalent in many sectors of the German economy. Migrant and seasonal workers frequently active in the agricultural and construction industries are particularly vulnerable to exploitation. But this is also rife in the online economy, for example, in the form of mail order and parcel deliveries. Low prices mean low wages for tough work. There are an estimated 170,000 modern-day “slaves” living in Germany. Although unemployment levels are comparatively low, not everyone enjoys equal access to the labor market. People with disabilities, for instance, are more likely to be out of a job than the rest of the workforce; and women often do unpaid work, such as housework and caring for others.

Germany is one of the richest industrialised nations in the world. Unfortunately, this prosperity and economic growth has been a tremendous drain on natural resources. From an environmental standpoint, Germans live and consume out of all proportion with what is sustainable. It would take several Earths to meet resource consumption at this level. Shifting to a more sustainable economy is thus a tremendous challenge – and one that will also change the labor market landscape. Yet that’s still not enough. Consumer behavior must become more sustainable, too.

Although on average the real gross domestic product per capita is increasing year on year globally, growth rates in many developing countries are not only slowing but also slipping further from the seven percent target set for 2030. When labor productivity falls and unemployment rises, lower wages cause living standards to drop.

To achieve sustainable economic growth, societies must ensure conditions conducive to creating quality jobs that stimulate the economy without damaging the environment. The entire global population of working age needs employment opportunities and decent working conditions. Strengthening trade, banking and agricultural commitments will help to spur productivity and reduce unemployment in the world’s most poverty-stricken regions.

Be the change you want to see!

Here’s how you can help create decent employment conditions:

  • Learn about production conditions and only buy from companies that treat employees fairly
  • Unionize and campaign for better pay, e.g. for care workers
  • Buy regional or at least fair trade products
Quiz

SDG 8 – Decent Work and Economic Growth

How familiar are you with the issues of forced labor & low wages?

Play
SDG 8 – Decent Work and Economic Growth
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 8 – Decent Work and Economic Growth
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 8 – Decent Work and Economic Growth

SDG 8

SDG 8: Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum

Dauerhaftes, breitenwirksames und nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum, produktive Vollbeschäftigung und menschenwürdige Arbeit für alle

Arbeit macht einen Großteil unseres Lebens aus. Sie bestimmt unseren Alltag und ermöglicht uns zugleich, zu wohnen, zu essen und vieles mehr. Es wurde noch nie so viel auf der Welt produziert und konsumiert wie heute – sei es Kleidung, Lebensmittel oder technische Geräte wie Handy und Autos. Hierbei spielt Wirtschaftswachstum eine wichtige Rolle im Kampf gegen globale Armut. Doch Wachstum allein führt nicht automatisch zu mehr Wohlstand oder guter Arbeit für alle. 700 Millionen Menschen leben weltweit in Armut, obwohl sie arbeiten. Ein anhaltender Mangel an menschenwürdigen Arbeitsmöglichkeiten, unzureichende Investitionen und Minderverbrauch führen zu einer Erosion des sozialen Grundvertrags der demokratischen Gesellschaften. Rund die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung lebt noch immer von etwa zwei US-Dollar pro Tag bei einer globalen Arbeitslosenquote von nur 5,7 Prozent. An vielen Orten garantiert ein Arbeitsplatz nicht, der Armut zu entkommen.

Mehr Menschen als je zuvor leben heute in Zwangsarbeit, in dem sie vorübergehend oder lebenslang als Eigentum anderer behandelt werden: Weltweit rund 40 Millionen Menschen, die unter anderem in der Landwirtschaft, der Textilindustrie oder der Rohstoffgewinnung tätig sind. Durchschnittlich arbeiten so indirekt für jede:n Deutsche:n rund 60 „Sklaven“ – durch globale Produktionsketten ist es kaum möglich zu garantieren, dass in einem Smartphone, einem T-Shirt oder einer Tasse Kaffee keine Zwangsarbeit steckt.

Viele Familien sehen sich gezwungen, ihre Kinder zur Arbeit anstatt in die Schule zu schicken, da sie zu arm sind, um ihre Familie alleine zu ernähren. Laut Schätzungen von UNICEF sind weltweit 150 Millionen Kinder zwischen 5 und 14 Jahren schon berufstätig. Die meisten von ihnen leben in Afrika, gefolgt von Asien. Sie verrichten oftmals Tätigkeiten, die ihrer körperlichen und geistigen Entwicklung schaden und obendrauf die Umwelt stark belasten. Die so genannte Schattenwirtschaft, also Arbeit ohne Besteuerung und Regulierung, ist ein weiteres großes Hindernis für menschenwürdige Arbeit und wirkt sich negativ auf das Einkommen, den Sozial-, Arbeits- und Gesundheitsschutz und die allgemeinen Arbeitsbedingungen aus.

Auch in Deutschland herrschen in vielen Bereichen Lohndumping und prekäre Arbeitsverhältnisse wie Leih- oder Zeitarbeit. Besonders von Ausbeutung gefährdet sind Arbeitsmigranten oder Saisonarbeiter, die oft in der Landwirtschaft oder in der Baubranche eingesetzt werden. Aber auch der Online-Bereich ist hiervon beispielsweise durch den Versandhandel und Zustellungen von Paketen betroffen: niedrige Preise heißt niedrige Löhne für harte Arbeit. In Deutschland leben schätzungsweise 170.000 moderne „Sklaven“. Obwohl es vergleichsweise wenig Arbeitslosigkeit gibt, ist der Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt nicht für alle gleich. So sind Menschen mit Behinderung öfter arbeitslos als der Durchschnitt und Frauen leisten häufig unbezahlte Arbeit, zum Beispiel im Haushalt oder in der Pflege.

Deutschland gehört zu den reichsten Industrieländern der Welt. Dieser Wohlstand und das Wirtschaftswachstum sind auf Kosten natürlicher Ressourcen erreicht worden. Ökologisch gesehen leben und konsumieren wir in Deutschland weit über unsere Verhältnisse – um unseren Ressourcenverbrauch zu decken wären mehrere Erden notwendig. Der Umstieg auf eine nachhaltigere Wirtschaft ist also eine große Herausforderung, die auch den Arbeitsmarkt verändern wird. Aber auch unser Konsumverhalten muss nachhaltiger werden.

Auch wenn die durchschnittliche jährliche Wachstumsrate des realen Brutto-Inlands-Produkts pro Kopf weltweit von Jahr zu Jahr zunimmt, verlangsamt sich die Wachstumsrate vieler Entwicklungsländer und entfernt sich weiter von dem für 2030 festgelegten Wachstumsziel von 7 Prozent. Mit sinkender Arbeitsproduktivität und steigenden Arbeitslosenzahlen sinkt der Lebensstandard aufgrund niedrigerer Löhne.

Ein nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum erfordert, dass Gesellschaften die Bedingungen schaffen, in denen Menschen qualitativ hochwertige Arbeitsplätze erlangen, die die Wirtschaft stimulieren und gleichzeitig die Umwelt nicht belasten. Beschäftigungschancen und menschenwürdige Arbeitsbedingungen sind für die gesamte Bevölkerung im erwerbsfähigen Alter erforderlich. Verstärkte Verpflichtungen in den Bereichen Handel, Banken und Landwirtschaft werden dazu beitragen, die Produktivität zu steigern und die Arbeitslosigkeit in den am stärksten verarmten Regionen der Welt zu senken.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du für menschenwürdige Arbeit sorgen:

  • Informiere dich über Produktionsbedingungen und kaufe bei fair produzierenden Unternehmen
  • Organisiere und engagiere dich für eine bessere Bezahlung von z.B. Pflegekräften
  • Kaufe regionale oder zumindest fair gehandelte Produkte
Quiz

SDG 8 – Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum

Wie gut bist du mit Themen wie Zwangsarbeit & Niedriglohn vertraut?

Spielen
SDG 8 – Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 8 – Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 8 – Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum