SDG 4

SDG 4: Quality Education

Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all

While most children and teens in Germany go to class every week, that’s not the case in the rest of the world where one in six are not in school. Over 265 million children – 22 percent of them of elementary school age – are currently not attending school. These children’s knowledge is limited and often they have not learned to read, write or do arithmetic. Because of this, they are only likely to find unskilled work that pays very little. Especially children living in poverty drop out of school because they don’t have money for tuition and teaching materials. Such children start work at an early age to support their families. Sometimes there simply are no schools nearby. But a lack of key qualifications and skills only makes it more difficult to lift themselves out of poverty.

When educational levels throughout a country’s population are low, that’s a problem not just for the individuals but for the country as a whole. Without trained, qualified experts, the country will be hard pressed to develop further and achieve sustainable economic growth under its own steam. In addition to improving the quality of life, access to inclusive education can help equip people with the resources needed to devise innovative solutions to the world’s biggest problems.

Even where many children attend school, more than one in two still cannot read properly or do arthmetic. This is frequently because schools and teachers lack resources. Compared to schools in Germany, where computers and technology are increasingly in use, almost half of the schools in sub-Saharan Africa do not have access to drinking water, electricity, computers or the Internet. Qualified teachers who know how to impart knowledge to their students are also in short supply. In order to provide children from poor families with a quality education, we need to invest in scholarships for pupils, teacher training workshops, building school facilities as well as improving water and electricity supply in schools.

In 2019, one in ten young adults aged 18 to 24 in Germany only had a lower secondary education, which barred them from admission to university and technical college. Additionally, they had neither completed nor were engaged in vocational training or further education. Known as early leavers, these individuals face an increased risk of remaining unemployed, not earning a sufficient income and living in poverty in the future. Germany is also home to 6.2 million people who cannot read and write properly. Although many recognize and can write single words, they cannot understand or compose longer texts. One in two are not native speakers of German. Schoolgoers from immigrant backgrounds often achieve poorer results and are 50 percent more likely to drop out than classmates whose native language is German. Consequently, it is more difficult for them to successfully enter the workforce.

In the last decade, significant advances have been made in improving access to education at all levels by, for instance, increasing enrolment rates especially among women and girls. Basic reading skills have improved tremendously. Yet more effort is needed to fast-track progress toward universal education goals. So while, for example, girls and boys have achieved parity in elementary schools globally, there are few countries where this is true at all levels of education.

Be the change you want to see!

Here's how you can help improve standards of education:

  • Donate old, well cared for school books, textbooks and non-fiction books
  • Work as a volunteer, e.g. as a language teacher
  • Sign up as a volunteer reader on the "Vorlesen" (read aloud) network
Quiz

SDG 4 – Quality Education

How well informed are you about access to education and global education levels?

Play
SDG 4 – Quality Education
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 4 – Quality Education
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 4 – Quality Education

    Projects targeting SDG 4

    Join us in ensuring quality education.

    Organisations pursuing SDG 4

    These organisations actively improve the quality of education.

SDG 4

SDG 4: Hochwertige Bildung

Inklusive, gleichberechtigte und hochwertige Bildung gewährleisten und Möglichkeiten des lebenslangen Lernens für alle.

Während die meisten Kinder und Jugendlichen aus Deutschland jede Woche zur Schule gehen, kann weltweit ungefähr jedes sechste Kind keine Schule besuchen. Über 265 Millionen Kinder, 22 Prozent von ihnen im Grundschulalter, sind derzeit nicht in der Schule. Für die betroffenen Kinder bedeutet das, dass sie nur über wenig Wissen verfügen und oft weder lesen, schreiben noch rechnen lernen. Dadurch können sie später auch nur einen gering qualifizierten Job ausüben und verdienen häufig sehr wenig Geld. Besonders Kinder, die in Armut leben, können nicht zur Schule gehen, weil ihnen das Geld für den Unterricht und die Schulmaterialien fehlt. Diese Kinder gehen schon früh arbeiten, um ihre Familie zu unterstützen. Manchmal gibt es gar keine Schule in der Nähe. Dadurch können sie sich auch schwer aus der Armut befreien. Ihnen fehlen wichtige Qualifikationen und Kompetenzen.

Das geringe Bildungsniveau einer Bevölkerung ist nicht nur für die betroffenen Menschen ein Problem, sondern auch für das Land als Ganzes. Wenn es in einem Land keine gebildeten und qualifizierten Fachkräfte gibt, kann es sich kaum weiterentwickeln und aus eigener Kraft nachhaltig wirtschaftlich wachsen. Neben der Verbesserung der Lebensqualität trägt der Zugang zu integrativer Bildung dazu bei, Menschen mit den notwendigen Mitteln auszustatten, um innovative Lösungen für die größten Probleme der Welt zu entwickeln.

Auch wenn viele Kinder zur Schule gehen können, kann mehr als die Hälfte von ihnen trotzdem noch nicht richtig lesen und rechnen. Das liegt oft daran, dass die Schulen und Lehrer schlecht ausgestattet sind. Denn während Schulen in Deutschland immer mehr mit Computern und Technik arbeiten, haben fast die Hälfte der Schulen südlich der Sahara keinen Zugang zu Trinkwasser, keinen Strom, keine Computer und kein Internet. Außerdem fehlen qualifizierte Lehrkräfte, um den Schülerinnen und Schülern Wissen gut zu vermitteln. Damit den Kindern armer Familien eine qualitativ hochwertige Bildung geboten werden kann, sind Investitionen in Bildungsstipendien, Workshops zur Lehrerfortbildung, der Bau von Schulen und besserer Zugang zu Wasser und Strom an Schulen erforderlich.

In Deutschland hatte im Jahr 2019 jede:r zehnte 18- bis 24-Jährige keine abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung, weder Abitur noch Fachhochschulreife und nahm auch nicht an Aus- und Weiterbildungen teil. Diese sogenannten frühen Schulabgänger:innen haben ein erhöhtes Risiko, keine Arbeit zu finden, kein ausreichendes Einkommen zu erzielen und zukünftig in Armut zu leben. 6,2 Millionen Menschen in Deutschland können nicht richtig lesen und schreiben. Viele können zwar einzelne Worte verstehen und auch schreiben, aber keinen längeren Text lesen und verfassen. Die Hälfte von ihnen sind Menschen, deren Muttersprache nicht Deutsch ist. In den Schulen erzielen Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund oft schlechtere Ergebnisse und brechen 50 Prozent häufiger ab als ihre Mitschüler:innen mit deutscher Muttersprache. Dadurch ist es für sie schwieriger, erfolgreich in das Berufsleben einzusteigen.

In den letzten zehn Jahren wurden große Fortschritte bei der Verbesserung des Zugangs zu Bildung auf allen Ebenen erzielt, zum Beispiel bei der Erhöhung der Einschulungsraten insbesondere von Frauen und Mädchen. Die grundlegenden Lesefähigkeiten haben sich enorm verbessert. Doch es bedarf noch weiterer Anstrengungen für schnelleren Fortschritt zur Erreichung universeller Bildungsziele. So wurde beispielsweise weltweit die Gleichstellung von Mädchen und Jungen in Grundschulen erreicht, aber nur wenige Länder haben dieses Ziel auf allen Bildungsebenen erfüllt.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du für hochwertige Bildung vorgehen:

  • Spende alte, gut erhaltene Schul-, Lehr- oder Sachbücher
  • Hilf durch ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten, z.B. als Sprachlehrer
  • Melde dich als freiwilliger Vorleser beim Netzwerk “Vorlesen”
Quiz

SDG 4 – Hochwertige Bildung

Wie gut bist du über den Zugang zu Bildung und unser weltweites Bildungsniveau informiert?

Spielen
SDG 4 – Hochwertige Bildung
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 4 – Hochwertige Bildung
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 4 – Hochwertige Bildung

    Projekte mit dem SDG 4

    Setze dich jetzt für hochwertige Bildung ein!

    Organisationen mit dem SDG 4

    Diese Organisationen arbeiten aktiv für hochwertige Bildung.