SDG 16

SDG 16: Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels

For sustainable development and prosperity to flourish, we must be able to enjoy peace, bodily integrity and the protection afforded by a sound legal system. Too many people are at the mercy of weak institutions. They lack access to justice, information and other fundamental freedoms. Violations of children’s rights through physical or sexual abuse remain a scourge in many countries around the world and are exacerbated by a lack of news coverage and data. While cases of homicide and human trafficking have fallen significantly over the past decade, thousands of people in Latin America, sub-Saharan Africa and Asia are still at an elevated risk of falling victim to premeditated murder. Armed conflict as well as domestic and criminal violence not only place millions of lives in jeopardy but also erode living conditions on a long-term basis by reducing harvests and resources, impeding access to education and health care as well as blocking opportunities to participate in society.

A total of 29 armed conflicts and wars were recorded worldwide in 2020. Every day, 100 civilians die in armed conflicts. The number of people fleeing their homes is steadily increasing and exceeded 79 million in 2019 – the highest level ever recorded. According to the World Bank, there are currently some 35 countries around the world where armed groups have seized power and decide the fate of the population. Many nations are plagued by arbitrary rulings, inequality and corruption, leading to a collapse in government, administration and public services.

Germany is one of the safest countries in the world. This is something that needs to be maintained, while helping other countries achieve the same levels of security. But in Germany, too, this goal is undermined by corruption and administrative failures of the government. Transparency and accountability in state institutions and authorities are indispensable, as are their effective checks and balances ensured by politically legitimate bodies, together with a free press and reporting. This is not to say that Germany is untouched by wars and conflicts, as is evident from the Syrian refugees, for instance. By the same token, their example illustrates why both lasting peace and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals can only be achieved through a concerted global effort.

Building a more peaceful, inclusive society calls for more efficient, transparent regulations and comprehensive, realistic national budgets. One of the first steps toward protecting individual rights is the implementation of worldwide birth registration and the creation of independent national human rights institutions around the world.

Only when homicide, child abuse, human trafficking and sexual violence around the world are stamped out will it be possible to create peaceful and inclusive societies geared to sustainable development. Such societies facilitate access to justice for all and pave the way to building effective, accountable institutions at all levels.

Be the change you want to see!

Here’s how you can stand up for peace, justice and strong institutions:

  • Go out and vote!
  • Learn about your rights and those of others
  • Support public institutions, such as universities and libraries
Quiz

SDG 16 – Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

How well informed are you about war, flight, and crime?

Play
SDG 16 – Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 16 – Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 16 – Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions

    Projects targeting SDG 16

    Join us in fighting for peace, justice and strong institutions.

    Organisations pursuing SDG 16

    These organisations actively fight for peace, justice and strong institutions.

SDG 16

SDG 16: Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

Friedliche und inklusive Gesellschaften für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung fördern, allen Menschen Zugang zur Justiz ermöglichen und leistungsfähige, rechenschaftspflichtige und inklusive Institutionen auf allen Ebenen aufbauen

Frieden, körperliche Unversehrtheit und Schutz durch ein stabiles Rechtssystem sind unabdingbare Voraussetzungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung und Wohlstand. Zu viele Menschen sind auf zu schwache Institutionen angewiesen und sind ohne Zugang zu Justiz, zu Informationen und zu anderen Grundfreiheiten. Kinderrechtsverletzungen durch Aggression und sexuelle Gewalt plagen nach wie vor viele Länder auf der ganzen Welt, zumal mangelnde Berichterstattung und Datenmangel das Problem verschärfen. Während die Fälle von Mord und Menschenhandel in den letzten zehn Jahren erheblich gesunken sind, sind immer noch Tausende von Menschen in Lateinamerika, in Subsahara-Afrika und in Asien stärker von vorsätzlichen Morden bedroht. Kriegerische Konflikte, sowie häusliche und kriminelle Gewalt, bedrohen das Leben von Millionen Menschen nicht nur unmittelbar – sie verschlechtern auch die langfristigen Lebensbedingungen, vermindern Ernteerträge und Ressourcen, verringern die Chancen auf Bildung, auf Gesundheitsfürsorge und Partizipation.

2020 wurden international 29 kriegerische Konflikte und Kriege gezählt. 100 Zivilpersonen sterben jeden Tag in bewaffneten Konflikten. Die Zahl der Menschen, die aus ihrer Heimat flüchten, steigt stetig und war 2019 mit über 79 Millionen Menschen so hoch wie noch nie zuvor. Weltweit gibt es laut Weltbank derzeit rund 35 Staaten, in denen bewaffnete Gruppen die Macht übernommen haben und das Leben der Bevölkerung bestimmen. In vielen Staaten herrschen Willkür, Ungleichheit und Korruption. Staatliche Ordnung, Verwaltung und Daseinsfürsorge brechen zusammen.

Deutschland ist eines der sichersten Länder der Welt. Dies gilt es zu bewahren und gleichzeitig andere Länder darin zu unterstützen. Doch auch hier gibt es Korruption und die staatliche Verwaltung versagt. Transparenz und Rechenschaftspflicht staatlicher Institutionen und Behörden sowie eine effektive Kontrolle durch politisch legitimierte Gremien sind unverzichtbar, ebenso wie freie Presse und Berichterstattung. Trotzdem haben auch Kriege und Konflikte Auswirkungen auf Deutschland wie das Beispiel der Geflüchteten aus Syrien belegt. Zugleich bestätigt dies, dass nachhaltiger Frieden und die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung nur global und gemeinschaftlich erreicht werden können.

Um eine friedlichere und integrativere Gesellschaft aufzubauen, brauchen wir effizientere und transparentere Vorschriften und umfassendere realistische öffentliche Haushalte. Einer der ersten Schritte zum Schutz der individuellen Rechte ist die Umsetzung der weltweiten Geburtenregistrierung und die Schaffung unabhängiger nationaler Menschenrechtsinstitutionen auf der ganzen Welt.

Weltweite Tötungsdelikte, Gewalt gegen Kinder, Menschenhandel und sexuelle Gewalt müssen bekämpft werden, um friedliche und integrative Gesellschaften für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu schaffen. Sie ebnen den Weg für den Zugangs zur Justiz für alle und für den Aufbau effektiver, rechenschaftspflichtiger Institutionen auf allen Ebenen.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du dich für Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen einsetzen:

  • Gehe wählen!
  • Informiere dich über deine Rechte und die von anderen
  • Fördere öffentliche Institutionen wie Universitäten und Bibliotheken
Quiz

SDG 16 – Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

Wie gut bist du über Krieg, Flucht und Verbrechen informiert?

Spielen
SDG 16 – Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 16 – Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 16 – Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

    Projekte mit dem SDG 16

    Setze dich jetzt für Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen ein!

    • Andreas Luthe unterstützt dieses Projekt
      Unterstütze Organisation: In safe hands e.V.

      Bunter Ball

      Andreas Luthe × In safe hands e.V.
      16
      Supporter:innen
    • Manuel Neuer unterstützt dieses Projekt
      Unterstütze Organisation: Manuel Neuer Kids Foundation

      MANUS

      Manuel Neuer × Manuel Neuer Kids Foundation
      7
      Supporter:innen
    • Pia Wolter unterstützt dieses Projekt
      Unterstütze Organisation: In safe hands e.V.

      Bunter Ball

      Pia Wolter × In safe hands e.V.
      4
      Supporter:innen

    Organisationen mit dem SDG 16

    Diese Organisationen arbeiten aktiv für Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen.