SDG 15

SDG 15: Life on Land

Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss

Biodiversity and healthy ecosystems are the foundation for our life on this planet. That is why their rapid destruction is cause for real concern. Forests cover 30.7 percent of the Earth’s surface and, in addition to providing food security and shelter, they are key to combating climate change, protecting biodiversity and the homes of the indigenous population. At the current time, 13 million hectares of forests are being lost every year while the persistent degradation of drylands has led to the desertification of 3.6 billion hectares. Even though up to 15 percent of forest areas are currently under protection, biodiversity is still at risk. Today, more than half of the planet’s ecosystems are either worse off than they were 50 years ago or not being sustainably managed. Overexploitation in the shape of intensive farming and the effects of climate change are the main culprits in biodiversity loss and wholesale destruction, as is the case with half of all rainforests. Globally, two billion hectares of land are considered degraded. Decimating terrestrial ecosystems has far-reaching consequences: Of the world’s roughly five million animal species, between 11,000 and 58,000 become extinct each year due to habitat loss, among other factors. What’s more, land degradation directly impinges on the lives of some 3.2 billion people.

Deforestation and desertification – caused by human activities and climate change – pose major challenges to sustainable development and have affected the lives and livelihoods of millions of people in the fight against poverty. Indigenous peoples with traditional ways of life are equally hard hit. Additionally, global agriculture and consequently our food supply is also under threat: Despite losing one third of fertile land to pollution, erosion or desertification in the last 40 years, the world needs to increase yields by about 50 percent to feed the growing global population by 2050. But all hope is not yet lost. Humanity has recognized the extent of the threat to biodiversity and its devastating consequences. That is why more and more terrestrial ecosystems are under protection, being restored and sustainably managed. Increasing numbers of projects around the world support reforestation as well as species and ecosystem conservation.

Almost half of Germany’s land is under cultivation. The drive to raise productivity, coupled with increasingly intensive farming, has not left the environment unscathed. Every day in Germany, a piece of countryside the size of about 90 football fields is paved over to create traffic infrastructure and housing developments. Soil disturbed by heavy machinery is susceptible to erosion and a loss of fertility. Agricultural fertilizers pose a threat to soil and groundwater while farming diminishes biodiversity by reducing animals’ food sources and habitats.

Collapsing insect populations are a worrying example of biodiversity loss and currently a source of intense debate in Germany. Insect researchers have noticed declines in 96 percent of species. This not only has dire consequences for agriculture, as insect numbers in many places are already insufficient to pollinate fields naturally, but also throws entire ecosystems out of balance. Since insects are their food source, the number of birds has also fallen by 40 percent.

In 2019, the German government spent over EUR 745 million on conserving global ecosystems and is advocating for biodiversity and species protection worldwide. These drives include the Federal Cabinet’s Action Program for Insect Conservation that aims to halt the die-off and protect biodiversity as well as the Nature Conservation Initiative 2020, which outlines important spheres of activity and measures. More good news comes from the Federal Forest Inventory, which has recorded an improvement in the health of German forests. By protecting the world’s forests, we are also in a position to strengthen natural resource management and increase land productivity. Various efforts are being made to manage forests and combat desertification. These include the current enactment of two international agreements to promote the equitable use of resources. What’s more, financial investment is being directed into promoting biodiversity.

Be the change you want to see!

Here’s how you can help protect life on land:

  • Support organic farming, which is kind to the environment and soil
  • Set up nesting spots for birds
  • Use sand rather than road salt to de-ice surfaces, it’s better for plants and animals
Quiz

SDG 15 – Life on Land

Do you know about our land ecosystems?

Play
SDG 15 – Life on Land
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 15 – Life on Land
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 15 – Life on Land

SDG 15

SDG 15: Leben am Land

Landökosysteme schützen, wiederherstellen und ihre nachhaltige Nutzung fördern, Wälder nachhaltig bewirtschaften, Wüstenbildung bekämpfen, Bodendegradation beenden und umkehren und dem Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt ein Ende setzen

Biologische Vielfalt und gesunde Ökosysteme sind die Grundlagen unseres Lebens. Deshalb ist die rasante Zerstörung von biologischer Vielfalt ein echtes Problem. Wälder bedecken 30,7 Prozent der Erdoberfläche und stellen nicht nur Ernährungssicherheit und Schutzraum zur Verfügung, sondern sind auch für den Kampf gegen den Klimawandel, den Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt und für indigene Bevölkerungsgruppen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Derzeit gehen jedes Jahr 13 Millionen Hektar Wald verloren, während die anhaltende Degradation von Trockengebieten zur Wüstenbildung von 3,6 Milliarden Hektar geführt hat. Auch wenn bis zu 15 Prozent der Waldflächen derzeit unter Schutz stehen, ist die Biodiversität nach wie vor gefährdet. Mehr als die Hälfte der Ökosysteme ist heute in schlechterem Zustand als noch vor 50 Jahren, oder wird nicht nachhaltig genutzt: Ihre genetische Vielfalt geht verloren, oder sie wurden – wie die Hälfte aller Regenwälder – bereits vollständig zerstört. Übernutzung durch intensive Landwirtschaft und die Folgen des Klimawandels gehören dabei zu den wichtigsten Ursachen. 2 Mrd. Hektar Land gelten weltweit als geschädigt. Die Zerstörung der Landökosysteme hat weitreichende Konsequenzen: Von ungefähr 5 Millionen Tierarten sterben jährlich zwischen 11.000 und 58.000 aus, unter anderem durch den Schwund ihrer Lebensräume, ca. 3,2 Mrd. Menschen werden direkt von Landschädigungen getroffen.

Entwaldung und Wüstenbildung – verursacht durch menschliche Aktivitäten und den Klimawandel – stellen eine große Herausforderung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung dar und haben das Leben und die Existenzgrundlage von Millionen von Menschen im Kampf gegen die Armut beeinflusst. Darunter leiden auch indigene Völker und ihre traditionellen Lebensweisen. Und auch die globale Landwirtschaft, die unsere Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln garantiert, ist in Gefahr: Ein Drittel der fruchtbaren Landfläche weltweit ist in den letzten 40 Jahren durch Verschmutzung, Erosion oder Wüstenbildung verloren gegangen – während die Welt bis 2050 für die wachsende Erdbevölkerung schätzungsweise 50 Prozent mehr Lebensmittel produzieren muss. Doch noch ist die Hoffnung nicht verloren: Die Menschheit hat erkannt, wie sehr die Biodiversität bedroht ist und welche verheerenden Folgen damit einhergehen. Aus diesem Grund werden immer mehr Landökosysteme geschützt, wiederhergestellt und eine nachhaltige Nutzung gefördert. Weltweit gibt es immer mehr Projekte, die die Aufforstung der Wälder unterstützen und sich für die Arterhaltung und den Schutz der Ökosysteme einsetzen.

Fast die Hälfte der Flächen in Deutschland wird landwirtschaftlich genutzt. Produktionssteigerungen und immer intensivere Bewirtschaftung gehen auch an der Umwelt nicht spurlos vorbei. Jeden Tag verliert die Natur hierzulande eine Fläche von etwa 90 Fußballfeldern an Verkehr und Siedlungsbau. Durch schwere Maschinen werden Böden beschädigt, was wiederum zu Erosion und einem Verlust der Bodenfruchtbarkeit führen kann. Düngemittel stellen ein Risiko für Erde und Grundwasser dar, und die niedrige Artenvielfalt auf landwirtschaftlich genutzten Flächen schränkt tierische Nahrungsquellen und Lebensräume ein.

Besonders stark diskutiert wird in Deutschland aktuell das Problem des Insektensterbens – ein erschreckendes Beispiel für den Verlust der biologischen Vielfalt. Bei 96 Prozent der Arten haben Insektenforscher einen Rückgang festgestellt. Das hat nicht nur drastische Folgen für die Landwirtschaft selbst – an vielen Orten gibt es nicht mehr genügend Insekten, um Felder natürlich zu bestäuben – sondern bringt ganze Ökosysteme aus dem Gleichgewicht. Die Anzahl der Vögel ist ebenfalls um 40 Prozent geschrumpft, da Insekten ihnen als Nahrungsquelle dienen.

Die Bundesregierung hat 2019 über 745 Millionen Euro für den globalen Erhalt von Ökosystemen ausgegeben und macht sich weltweit für die Biodiversität und Artenvielfalt stark. Dabei hat das Bundeskabinett ein „Aktionsprogramm Insektenschutz“ eingeleitet, um das Insektensterben zu stoppen und die Artenvielfalt zu schützen. Darüber hinaus sind wichtige Handlungsfelder und Maßnahmen in der Naturschutz-Offensive 2020 beschrieben und festgehalten. Erfreulich ist auch, dass die Bundeswaldinventur eine positive Entwicklung des ökologischen Zustands deutscher Wälder aufweist. Durch den Schutz der weltweiten Wälder werden wir auch in der Lage sein, die Bewirtschaftung der natürlichen Ressourcen zu stärken und die Bodenproduktivität zu steigern. Derzeit werden zwei internationale Abkommen umgesetzt, die die gerechte Nutzung der Ressourcen fördern. Es werden zahlreiche Anstrengungen zur Bewirtschaftung der Wälder und zur Bekämpfung der Wüstenbildung unternommen. Außerdem werden finanzielle Investitionen zur Förderung der biologischen Vielfalt bereitgestellt.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du das Leben an Land schützen:

  • Unterstütze eine ökologische Landwirtschaft, sie schont Natur und Böden
  • Richte Nistmöglichkeiten für Vögel ein
  • Nutze Split statt Streusalz, das ist gesünder für Pflanzen und Tiere
Quiz

SDG 15 – Leben am Land

Weißt du, wie es um unsere Landökosysteme bestellt ist?

Spielen
SDG 15 – Leben am Land
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 15 – Leben am Land
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 15 – Leben am Land