SDG 14

SDG 14: Life below Water

Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development

Considering that oceans and seas cover more than two thirds of the Earth, it’s no surprise our home is nicknamed the blue planet. As such, they form the world’s largest ecosystem. In contrast, people only inhabit a very small portion of the planet. Thanks to their temperature, chemistry, currents and life, the world’s oceans are engines for global systems that make the Earth habitable for humankind. Absorbing about a quarter of the CO₂ we produce, oceans are responsible for providing and regulating rainwater, drinking water, weather, climate, coastlines, much of the food we eat and even the oxygen in the air we breathe. When the marine ecosystem is disrupted, we all feel the effects. Without the oceans, life on land is also doomed.

Throughout history, our seas and oceans have served as important channels for trade and transportation. At present, however, pollution is increasingly contaminating the world’s waterways. Additionally, a decades-long surge in CO₂ emissions has thrown the marine ecosystem out of balance. The result is climate change and ocean acidification, which poses a threat to marine life. Overfishing and pollution are also destroying this unique habitat. Ocean acidification not only adversely affects biodiversity but also has dire consequences for small-scale fisheries.

In line with its sustainability and cooperation priorities, Germany targets reductions in ocean nutrient pollution and aimed for sustainable management of all commercially exploited fish stocks in the North and Baltic Seas by 2020. The European Union – and consequently Germany – aims to minimize the negative impacts of fisheries. What’s more, Germany is not only committed to marine protection on its own shores but also supports partner countries around the globe in their efforts to implement lasting ocean conservation practices. For example, the German government is investing around EUR 50 million in waste collection and recycling technologies by 2023. Studies show that just ten rivers around the world are responsible for transporting 90 percent of the plastic waste that ends up in the oceans.

Marine protected areas must be effectively managed and adequately resourced. To that end, regulations curtailing overfishing, marine pollution and ocean acidification must be put in place. Careful management of this important global resource is an essential part of a sustainable future.

Scientists have also proven that positive changes in water quality are in fact attainable. Of 220 coastal regions, nearly half have improved their coastal water quality since 2012. In addition, the extent of marine protected areas has doubled since 2010. So, the world has taken some steps to improve the state of the oceans.

Be the change you want to see!

Here’s how you can help protect life below the water:

  • Carry shopping in your own cloth bags instead of plastic ones from the store
  • Only eat fish species that are not threatened by overfishing
  • Follow sustainable food guides and avoid microplastics
Quiz

SDG 14 – Life below Water

How well do you know the ocean and its problems caused by plastic and overfishing?

Play
SDG 14 – Life below Water
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 14 – Life below Water
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 14 – Life below Water

SDG 14

SDG 14: Leben unter Wasser

Ozeane, Meere und Meeresressourcen im Sinne nachhaltiger Entwicklung erhalten und nachhaltig nutzen

Dass die Erde der blaue Planet genannt wird, ist kein Zufall: Die Weltmeere bedecken mehr als zwei Drittel des Planeten. Damit bilden sie das größte Ökosystem der Welt – Wir Menschen bewohnen nur einen ganz kleinen Teil der Erde. Die Ozeane der Welt – ihre Temperatur, Zusammensetzung, Strömungen und ihr Leben – treiben globale Systeme an, die die Erde für die Menschheit lebenswert macht. Regenwasser, Trinkwasser, Wetter, Klima, Küsten, ein Großteil unserer Nahrung und sogar der Sauerstoff in der Luft, die wir atmen, werden vom Meer bereitgestellt und reguliert, indem es etwa ein Viertel der CO₂-Emissionen aufnimmt, die wir verursachen. Wenn dieses Ökosystem gestört wird, hat das Auswirkungen auf uns alle. Denn ohne die Ozeane hat auch das Leben an Land keine Chance.

Im Laufe der Geschichte sind Ozeane und Meere wichtige Kanäle für Handel und Transport gewesen. Gegenwärtig kommt es jedoch zu einer kontinuierlichen Verschlechterung der Gewässer durch Verschmutzung. Da die CO₂-Emissionen aber jahrzehntelang angestiegen sind, ist das Ökosystem Meer aus dem Gleichgewicht geraten. Die Folgen sind der Klimawandel und eine Versauerung der Ozeane, die das Leben der Meeresbewohner bedroht. Auch Überfischung und die Verschmutzung der Meere zerstören diesen einzigartigen Lebensraum. Die Übersäuerung der Ozeane wirkt sich nachteilig die biologische Vielfalt aus – das hat auch negative Konsequenzen für die Kleinfischerei.

Deutschland setzt auf Nachhaltigkeit und Zusammenarbeit. Die Nährstoffbelastung der Meere soll verringert werden und bis 2020 sollten alle wirtschaftlich genutzten Fischbestände in der Nord- und Ostsee nachhaltig bewirtschaftet werden. Es ist ein europäisches und damit auch ein deutsches Ziel, negative Auswirkungen der Fischerei auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Deutschland setzt sich aber nicht nur im eigenen Land für den Meeresschutz ein, sondern unterstützt Partnerländer weltweit bei ihrem Vorhaben, die Ozeane nachhaltig zu schützen. Beispielsweise wird die Bundesregierung bis zum Jahr 2023 etwa 50 Millionen Euro für Abfallsammel- und Verwertungstechnologien bereitstellen. Nachweislich sind weltweit nur 10 Flüsse für den Transport von 90 Prozent des Plastikmülls, der in die Meere gelangt, verantwortlich.

Wir müssen Meeresschutzgebiete effektiv bewirtschaften und mit ausreichenden Mitteln ausstatten. Es müssen Vorschriften erlassen werden, um Überfischung, Meeresverschmutzung und Versauerung der Meere zu verringern. Ein sorgfältiger Umgang mit dieser wichtigen globalen Ressource ist ein wesentlicher Teil einer nachhaltigen Zukunft.

Dass eine positive Veränderung der Wasserqualität aber durchaus zu erreichen ist, haben Wissenschaftler ebenfalls nachgewiesen. Von 220 Küstenregionen hat fast die Hälfte die Wasserqualität ihrer Küstengewässer seit 2012 verbessert. Außerdem stehen heute doppelt so viele Gewässer unter Schutz wie noch im Jahr 2010. Es wurden also schon einige Schritte weltweit unternommen, um den Zustand der Meere zu verbessern.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du das Leben unter Wasser schützen:

  • Verzichte auf Plastiktüten und nimm einen Stoffbeutel mit zum Einkaufen
  • Kaufe nur Fischarten, die nicht durch Überfischung bedroht sind
  • Nutze Einkaufsratgeber und verzichte auf Mikroplastik
Quiz

SDG 14 – Leben unter Wasser

Wie gut kennst du das Meer und seine Probleme durch Plastik und Überfischung?

Spielen
SDG 14 – Leben unter Wasser
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 14 – Leben unter Wasser
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 14 – Leben unter Wasser