SDG 12

SDG 12: Responsible Consumption and Production

Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns

Driving global economic growth calls for ever increasing quantities of resources – more lignite, oil, wood, fruit, vegetables and cereals. The amount of raw materials needed to manufacture the products we want has almost doubled since 2000. On average, each person on the planet consumed over 16 tons of raw materials – the weight of eleven cars – in 2018. People in high-income countries consume 13 times the quantity of their counterparts in low-income countries. Since high-income countries don’t usually have sufficient resources to meet their needs, they import a lot of them from countries in the Global South.

Global plastic production alone increased from 2.1 million tons in 1950 to 406 million in 2015. By that point, we had generated more than 6.9 billion tons of plastic waste. What’s worse, nearly 80 percent of it ended up in landfill or the environment and only nine percent was recycled. And this is despite increasing media coverage in recent years of the fallout from environmental pollution, such as plastic waste. Air, water and soil pollution pose major challenges in many countries. It is also estimated that each year one third – 1.3 billion tons – of all the food produced goes to waste. At the same time, more than two billion people around the world suffer from hunger or malnutrition.

Resource consumption is especially high in industrialized countries, such as Germany. On average, every German throws away 1.5 kilograms of clothing, 85 kilograms of food and around 25 kilograms of plastic packaging each year. In an attempt to stem the tide of plastic waste, the EU intends to ban single-use plastic such as straws and cotton buds. Plastic packaging, however, is still ubiquitous.

Even separating waste properly only has limited benefits because half of the plastic waste cannot be recycled. In Germany, food rescue programs that recover unused food from the trash are still illegal despite dramatic food waste. A change in legislation could follow the French model, which is set to prohibit retailers from disposing of food that can still be consumed.

We need a profound shift in our production and consumption practices. That means turning our backs on throwaway culture and embracing a circular economy with less wasted and higher levels of reuse and recycling. Global consumption of material goods has more than tripled since 1970 and there’s no sign of it slowing down. Sustainable consumption and production aim to do more and better with less. This opens the door to enhancing prosperity through economic activities that minimize resource use, material fatigue and pollution over the entire product life cycle while at the same time improving quality of life for all. Another focal area encompassing everyone from producer to end consumer is supply chains. Educating consumers about sustainable consumption and lifestyles, providing relevant information through standards and labels as well as participating in sustainable public procurement are just a few of the measures in this regard.

Be the change you want to see!

Here’s how you can foster sustainable consumption and production:

  • Use clothing swaps and second-hand shops
  • Learn about production conditions and only buy from ethical businesses
  • Carry shopping in your own cloth bags instead of plastic ones from the store
Quiz

SDG 12 – Responsible Consumption and Production

Do you know how much waste we produce every day?

Play
SDG 12 – Responsible Consumption and Production
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 12 – Responsible Consumption and Production
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 12 – Responsible Consumption and Production

SDG 12

SDG 12: Verantwortungsvoll konsumieren und produzieren

Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen

Braunkohle, Öl, Holz, Obst, Gemüse und Getreide – für den weltweiten wirtschaftlichen Fortschritt brauchen wir immer mehr Ressourcen. Die Menge an Rohstoffen, die wir zur Herstellung unserer gewünschten Produkte brauchen, hat sich seit dem Jahr 2000 fast verdoppelt. Im Jahr 2018 verbrauchte jeder von uns durchschnittlich über 16 Tonnen Rohstoffe, das entspricht dem Gewicht von 11 Autos. In Ländern mit hohem Einkommen war die Menge 13-mal höher als in Ländern mit niedrigem Einkommen. Länder mit hohem Einkommen können ihren Rohstoffbedarf allein meist nicht decken und beziehen daher viele Ressourcen aus Ländern des globalen Südens.

Allein die weltweite Plastikproduktion ist von 2,1 Millionen Tonnen im Jahr 1950 auf 406 Millionen im Jahr 2015 angestiegen. Bis 2015 haben wir mehr als 6,9 Milliarden Tonnen Plastikmüll erzeugt – fast 80 Prozent davon landet wiederum in Deponien oder in der Umwelt, nur neun Prozent wurden recycelt. Und das, obwohl in den letzten Jahren vermehrt über die Folgen von Umweltverschmutzung beispielsweise durch Plastikmüll berichtet wurde. Die Länder stehen vor großen Herausforderungen in Bezug auf Luft-, Wasser- und Bodenverschmutzung. Jedes Jahr wird außerdem schätzungsweise ein Drittel aller produzierten Lebensmittel – 1,3 Milliarden Tonnen – weggeworfen. Gleichzeitig leiden mehr als 2 Milliarden Menschen auf der Welt an Hunger oder Unterernährung.

In Industrieländern wie Deutschland ist der Ressourcenverbrauch pro Kopf besonders groß. Jede:r Deutsche wirft pro Jahr durchschnittlich etwa 1,5 Kilogramm Kleidung, 85 Kilogramm Nahrungsmittel und rund 25 Kilogramm Plastikverpackungen in den Müll. Um auf die Flut an Plastikmüll zu reagieren, will die EU Einwegplastik wie Strohhalme oder Wattestäbchen verbieten, doch Plastikverpackungen sind noch immer allgegenwärtig. Auch die richtige Mülltrennung hilft nur bedingt, denn die Hälfte der Plastikabfälle können nicht wiederverwertet werden. In Deutschland ist „Containern“, also das Retten von ungebrauchten Nahrungsmitteln aus dem Müll, trotz dramatischer Lebensmittelverschwendung noch immer illegal. Vorbild könnten hier Gesetzgebungen wie in Frankreich sein, wo es für den Handel bald verboten ist, neuwertige Lebensmittel wegzuwerfen.

Wir brauchen einen tiefgreifenden Wandel unserer Produktions- und Konsumpraktiken, der weg von einer „Wegwerf-Kultur“ und hin zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft, in der weniger verschwendet und mehr wiederverwendet und recycelt wird. Seit 1970 hat sich der weltweite Konsum an materiellen Gütern mehr als verdreifacht, Tendenz noch immer steigend. Da nachhaltiger Konsum und nachhaltige Produktion darauf abzielen, mit weniger mehr und besser zu werden, können die Wohlstandsgewinne aus wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten durch Verringerung von Ressourcenverbrauch, Materialermüdung und Umweltverschmutzung über den gesamten Lebenszyklus steigen – bei gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der Lebensqualität für alle. Außerdem muss der Schwerpunkt auf der Lieferkette liegen, an der alle vom Erzeuger bis zum Endverbraucher beteiligt sind. Dazu gehört unter anderem die Aufklärung der Verbraucher über einen nachhaltigen Konsum und Lebensstil, die Bereitstellung angemessener Informationen durch Normen und Labels und die Beteiligung an nachhaltigen öffentlichen Aufträgen.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du für nachhaltige:n Konsum und Produktion vorgehen:

  • Nutze Kleidertauschbörsen und Second Hand Shops
  • Informiere dich über Produktionsbedingungen und entscheide dich für fair produzierende Unternehmen
  • Verzichte auf Plastiktüten und nimm Stoffbeutel mit zum Einkaufen
Quiz

SDG 12 – Verantwortungsvoll konsumieren und produzieren

Weißt du wie viel Müll wir täglich produzieren?

Spielen
SDG 12 – Verantwortungsvoll konsumieren und produzieren
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 12 – Verantwortungsvoll konsumieren und produzieren
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 12 – Verantwortungsvoll konsumieren und produzieren