SDG 11

SDG 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities

Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable

Today, every second person on the planet lives in a city. That could rise to three quarters of the global population by 2050. As nerve centers for ideas, trade, culture, science, social development and much more, cities at their best allow people to prosper both socially and economically. They are also productivity and innovation hubs that generate around 80 percent of global gross domestic product. But at the same time, they are responsible for up to 75 percent of human greenhouse emissions. Fortunately, there’s great potential for a more sustainable future in cities because population density is conducive to greener living and resource-efficient mobility concepts.

Not everyone living in urban centers has equal access to resources. In 2018, the number of people living in slums rose to 24 percent of urban populations. In the Global South’s metropolitan areas, neighborhoods without water and electricity supply often sit directly alongside gated communities or golf courses with floodlights and lawn sprinklers. Nine out of ten of the world’s city dwellers breathe air with particulate matter levels that exceed the World Health Organization benchmarks. Only about half of residents live near public transport and a mere one in five is within easy reach of open spaces, such as squares or parks. With the number of people living in cities expected to reach five billion by 2030, instituting effective urban planning and management practices capable of meeting the challenges posed by urbanization is essential. Climate change will only exacerbate inequalities, as the poorest are often the most vulnerable to natural disasters and the like.

At present, few topics are as politically charged in German cities as rental rates and housing shortages. In Hamburg, for instance, every third tenant fears losing their apartment. Low earners in particular often spend far more than the recommended 30 percent of their income on rent. That means housing costs increase the risk of people falling into poverty, as low-wage earners are pushed to urban peripheries, far removed from infrastructure and social life in the city center. Accordingly, providing sufficient affordable housing while ensuring residents enjoy quality of life in ecologically sound cities with public and green spaces is one of the key challenges in urban development.

By the same token, expanding public transport networks and improving infrastructure for cyclists and pedestrians are also critical aspects of a sustainable urban development strategy. Nor must planners forget about rural areas. After all, one way to ease the demographic pressure on cities is by making rural areas attractive locations for business and innovation. That entails providing an equal quality of life in both urban and rural areas by providing the same kind of access to transport, education and infrastructure.

This is why Germany, too, aims to make its cities more sustainable and consequently better equipped for the future. What’s more, cities must become more inclusive so that no one is excluded or disadvantaged. More affordable housing and better mobility are just the beginning. Impact on the climate and environment must also be taken into account with a view to targeting carbon neutrality, energy efficiency and climate adaptation in cities. With that in mind, the German federal government, states, local authorities and citizens are working on ideas and strategies. In addition to urban planning, Germany is focusing on developing rural regions to ensure people in the countryside and cities enjoy equal quality of life.

Managing cities means juggling many different demands in order to go on creating jobs and prosperity without overburdening land and resources. Common urban challenges include traffic congestion, lack of funding for basic services, a shortage of decent housing, deteriorating infrastructure and increasing air pollution. By continuing to develop cities while improving resource usage and curtailing pollution and poverty – for instance, by way of safe, systematic municipal waste collection – it is possible to overcome the challenges of rapid urbanization. We need to forge a future where cities not only provide opportunities for all but also afford access to basic services, energy, housing, transport and more.

Be the change you want to see!

Here’s how you can help build sustainable cities and communities:

  • Travel by bus and train to minimize air pollution and noise
  • Sign petitions to stop unsustainable urban development projects
  • Visit natural swimming pools instead of chlorinated ones
Quiz

SDG 11 – Sustainable Cities and Communities

How much do you know about the benefits and challenges of city life?

Play
SDG 11 – Sustainable Cities and Communities
Loading…
Your result

Congratulations! You got all the questions right!

SDG 11 – Sustainable Cities and Communities
0 Impact Points
Your result

Unfortunately, you did not answer all the questions correctly. Try again now!

SDG 11 – Sustainable Cities and Communities

    Projects targeting SDG 11

    Join us in building sustainable cities and communities.

    Organisations pursuing SDG 11

    These organisations actively work to build sustainable cities and communities.

SDG 11

SDG 11: Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden

Städte und Siedlungen inklusiv, sicher, widerstandsfähig und nachhaltig gestalten

Jeder zweite Mensch weltweit lebt heute in einer Stadt – bis zum Jahr 2050 könnten es bis zu drei Vierteln der Weltbevölkerung sein. Städte sind Drehscheiben für Ideen, Handel, Kultur, Wissenschaft, soziale Entwicklung und vieles mehr. Städte haben es den Menschen im besten Fall ermöglicht, sich sozial und wirtschaftlich zu entwickeln. Städte sind Ballungszentren der Produktivität und der Innovation – sie produzieren rund 80 % des globalen Bruttoinlandsprodukts. Doch gleichzeitig verursachen sie bis zu 75 % des menschlichen CO₂-Ausstoßes. Städte bieten viel Potential für eine nachhaltigere Zukunft, denn ihre Bevölkerungsdichte bietet die Voraussetzungen für ökologischeres Wohnen und ressourcenschonende Mobilitätskonzepte.

Der Zugang zu Ressourcen innerhalb von Städten ist noch immer ungleich verteilt. 2018 stieg der Anteil der Stadtbevölkerung, der in Slums lebt, auf 24 %. Viertel ohne Wasser- und Stromversorgung liegen in den Metropolen des globalen Südens oft unmittelbar neben „Gated Communities“ oder Golfplätzen mit Flutlicht und Rasensprenganlagen. 9 von 10 Stadtbewohner:innen atmen Luft, deren Feinstaubbelastung über den Richtwerten der Weltgesundheitsorganisation liegt. Nur rund die Hälfte der Bewohner:innen hat einfachen Zugang zu öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln und bloß 20 % zu öffentlichen Räumen wie Plätzen oder Parks. Da die Zahl der Menschen, die in Städten leben, bis 2030 auf 5 Milliarden Menschen ansteigen soll, ist es wichtig, dass effiziente Stadtplanungs- und Managementpraktiken vorhanden sind, um den Herausforderungen der Urbanisierung zu begegnen. Durch die Folgen des Klimawandels werden Ungleichheiten noch verstärkt, denn die ärmsten Menschen sind oft am stärksten von Naturkatastrophen und ähnlichem betroffen.

In deutschen Großstädten gibt es zurzeit kaum ein brisanteres Thema als Mieten und Wohnungsnot. So fürchtet sich zum Beispiel jede:r dritte Mieter:in in Hamburg davor, die Wohnung zu verlieren. Vor allem Geringverdienende müssen oft weit mehr als die empfohlenen 30 % ihres Einkommens für die Miete aufbringen. So wird Mieten zum Armutsrisiko – Geringverdienende werden immer weiter aus den Innenstädten verdrängt und so auch von Infrastruktur und sozialem Leben abgeschnitten. Eine der zentralen Herausforderungen der Stadtentwicklung ist also, genug bezahlbaren Wohnraum zu schaffen und gleichzeitig eine lebenswerte und klimafreundliche Stadt zu erhalten, indem öffentlicher Raum und Stadtnatur geschützt werden.

Auch der Ausbau des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs und die Verbesserung der Infrastruktur für Fahrrad- und Fußverkehr sind Teil einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklungsstrategie. Diese muss auch den ländlichen Raum mitdenken. Denn die Lebensqualität und den Zugang zu Mobilität, Bildung und Infrastruktur in Stadt und Land anzugleichen, bedeutet auch, dem demografischen Druck auf die Städte entgegenzuwirken und ländliche Regionen zu attraktiven Standpunkten für Wirtschaft und Innovation zu machen.

Deshalb hat sich auch Deutschland das Ziel gesetzt, Städte nachhaltiger und damit zukunftsfähiger zu gestalten. Außerdem sollen Städte inklusiver werden. Das heißt: Niemand soll ausgeschlossen oder benachteiligt werden. Dafür braucht es etwa mehr bezahlbaren Wohnraum und bessere Mobilität. Dabei werden auch die Umwelt und das Klima berücksichtigt, denn ein weiteres Ziel ist die CO₂-neutrale, klimaangepasste und energieeffiziente Stadt. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, entwickeln Bund, Länder, Kommunen sowie Bürger:innen Ideen und Pläne. Neben Plänen zur Stadtentwicklung setzt Deutschland auf die Entwicklung ländlicher Regionen, um die Lebensqualität auf dem Land und in der Stadt gleichwertig zu gestalten.

Es bringt viele Anforderungen mit sich, Städte so zu verwalten, dass weiter Arbeitsplätze und Wohlstand geschaffen werden, ohne Land und Ressourcen zu belasten. Zu den weitverbreiteten städtischen Herausforderungen gehören die Verkehrsüberlastung, fehlende Mittel für die Grundversorgung, ein Mangel an angemessenen Wohnungen, die Abnutzung der Infrastruktur und eine zunehmende Luftverschmutzung. Herausforderungen rasanter Urbanisierungsprozesse, wie die sichere und geordnete Abfallwirtschaft in Städten, können bewältigt werden, in dem Städte weiterhin ausgebaut werden, während gleichzeitig die Ressourcennutzung verbessert und Umweltverschmutzung und Armut reduziert werden. Es muss eine Zukunft geben, in der Städte Chancen für alle bieten – mit Zugang zu Grundversorgung, Energie, Unterkunft, Verkehr und mehr.

Mach's selbst!

So kannst du dich für weniger Ungleichheiten einsetzen:

  • Nutze Bus & Bahn, so verursachst du weniger Luftverschmutzung und weniger Lärm
  • Unterschreibe Petitionen, die nicht-nachhaltige Stadt­entwick­lungs­projekte stoppen
  • Besuche Naturbäder statt chlor­gereinigte Schwimm­bäder
Quiz

SDG 11 – Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden

Wie groß ist dein Wissen über die Vorteile und Herausforderungen des Stadtlebens?

Spielen
SDG 11 – Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
Lade…
Dein Ergebnis:

Glückwunsch! Du hast alle Fragen richtig beantwortet.

SDG 11 – Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
0 Impact Points
Dein Ergebnis:

Leider hast du nicht alle Fragen richtig beantwortet. Versuch es doch gleich noch einmal!

SDG 11 – Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden

    Projekte mit dem SDG 11

    Setze dich jetzt für nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden ein!

    Organisationen mit dem SDG 11

    Diese Organisationen arbeiten aktiv für nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden.